Criminal Defense

Administrative License Suspension Hearings in NH

An administrative license suspension hearing is a legal proceeding that determines whether you will lose your right to drive in New Hampshire or if your license will be reinstated after revocation. It is in your best interest to have legal representation to walk you through the process and help ensure your rights are protected. Annutto Law Office can be your source of support, guidance, and representation as we assist you with an administrative license suspension hearing.

Don’t Go It Alone

If you have been arrested and received notice that your license may be suspended, you have 30 days to contest that suspension and request a hearing. At the requested hearing, a judge or examiner will hear your side and will also hear from the officer who arrested you. You will be under oath and have a chance to explain why you feel your license should not be suspended. An officer will also be under oath and will try to justify why you were pulled over and cited or arrested. This may include presenting evidence of being under the influence and proof that you failed a field sobriety test. It will also include evidence that you were in control of the vehicle. After hearing the evidence, the judge or examiner will make a recommendation as to whether to reinstate your license.

Experienced ALS Hearings Attorney

It is vital that you understand the format of a hearing and what to expect as you appear. Attorney Annutto can fully explain what may occur and the potential evidence that may be presented against you.  We can prepare you and help ensure you get the best outcome at your hearing. Handling an administrative license suspension hearing on your own is never a good idea. With our help, your rights will be protected and any stress over the unknown can be alleviated. Let us hear the details of your hearing and case and devise the best strategy possible to ensure a fair outcome at your administrative license suspension hearing.

Aggravated DUI Attorney in New Hampshire

Any DUI charge in New Hampshire should be taken seriously. If you are charged with aggravated DUI, you need immediate legal assistance to help you through this difficult time. An aggravated DUI charge can have a much larger impact on your life compared to a DUI offense of another kind. Annutto Law Office understands the seriousness of an aggravated DUI charge and how stressful the unknown can be. We can dedicate the time and resources to get you the best outcome possible.

Levels of DUI in New Hampshire

A DUI charge can be upgraded to the level of aggravated DUI under specific conditions. Those conditions include if you were going 30 miles or more over the posted speed limit or if you eluded a police officer at the time. Other conditions that may warrant an aggravated charge include if there was a passenger under 16 in the car, if your blood alcohol content level was .16 percent or more, or if there was an accident resulting in injuries.

Aggravated DUI Penalties

An aggravated DUI conviction will result in mandatory jail time and a loss of your driver’s license for one year. Other consequences can include a seven day in-patient program for multiple offenders. This program can cost $1,000 to $2,000 out of your pocket. There are also high fines for an aggravated DUI. After regaining your license, you may have to install an ignition interlock device at your own cost, including a monthly rental fee. The charge can be upgraded to a felony if there is an accident with injuries and that can lead up to seven years in prison.

Experienced DUI Defense Attorney

With so much on the line, you need trusted and compassionate legal guidance. Attorney Annutto can help you get the best possible resolution for your case. We will give you the individual attention needed to investigate the circumstances of your case. Our firm will evaluate the evidence, the arrest details, and challenge the aggravated charge. With your reputation, your career, and possibly your freedom all on the line, you need and deserve dedicated representation. Let us protect your rights during this difficult time and do all we can to get you the best possible outcome.

Blood Test Laws in New Hampshire

One tool used in many DUI cases in New Hampshire is a blood alcohol content test. If blood is drawn and the BAC is above .08%, you can be charged with DUI. It is considered the most accurate measurement and is difficult, but not impossible, to dispute. If you submitted to a blood test and those results are being used against you, Annutto Law Office can help you get the best possible outcome for your case and possibly challenge those results.

Blood Testing Procedure & Accuracy

A blood test is a medical procedure and needs to be treated so. It has to be done by a licensed medical professional. If anyone involved in the testing was not licensed to do so, the test may be throw out or deemed inadmissible for your case. There are other ways a skilled and experienced legal professional can have a blood test refuted or dismissed. The way in which a blood sample was stored can alter the results and affect a case. If it is stored at the wrong temperature, the test can give false results. A blood test may also have been conducted with an expired kit or even labeled incorrectly. The chain of custody may also raise concerns if the test wasn’t documented as it moved from one location to another. There are personal factors that may have altered results of a blood test. Alcohol levels in blood can reach a peak level about one hour after consumption. The time of the test relative to the last drink and the actual time of arrest can all be evaluated and lead to a test being invalid.

Because blood tests can be subject to human error, medical error, and circumstantial errors, it is important that you have one of our dedicated DUI attorneys review the details of your case. Annutto Law Office can pursue numerous ways to dispute evidence and possibly lower the seriousness of the charges against you. No evidence is absolute and necessarily seals your fate. Our attorneys can dedicate the personal time and attention needed to find ways to minimize the impact a charge may have on your life. Challenging blood test results or challenging how that test was conducted may help you put a charge behind you. Let us hear the details, investigate the facts, and work to challenge any and all evidence against you, including blood tests.

DUI Consequences in New Hampshire

Any DUI charge in New Hampshire is a serious matter. Regardless of whether it is a first offense or a fourth, you need a clear understanding of the legal consequences that are possible if you are convicted. Annutto Law Office can help explain the consequences and work to minimize the impact those consequences can have on your life.

The specific consequence for a DUI depends on the situation. If it is a first offense, there are fines and the loss of a driver’s license for a period of up to 18 months. There can possible be jail time, also. A second offense DUI can lead to higher fines, a license suspension of up to three years, and 30 days in jail. A third offense has even greater consequences. It can lead to up to two years in jail, high fines, and possible indefinite license suspension.

Other Types of DUI Charges

If a DUI is an aggravated charge, which means there was serious bodily injury or a death involved, there may be a seven year prison sentence imposed and a felony on your record forever. A felony charge can impact every aspect of your professional and personal life.

Most DUI charges can result in a substance abuse screening assessment. The findings of a screening can lead to a service plan, such as counseling or enrollment in a substance abuse program. A DUI can also lead to the requirement to carry SR-22 insurance. If you don’t pay the fee or if you drop the insurance before the time mandated, you will have to pay for it longer and risk losing your driver’s license again. Most DUI convictions beyond a first conviction will lead to the requirement to install an ignition interlock device. This is essentially a breathalyzer you have to keep in your own vehicle. You are required to breathe into the machine in order to start your car. Any tampering with the device will result in further legal consequences.

Experienced DUI Attorney

Any DUI can affect your wallet, your ability to drive, and your freedom. It will also impact your reputation in countless ways. The consequences are high and will vary according to the circumstances under which you were charged. Attorney Joseph Annutto takes DUI cases of all kinds very seriously. We understand how the consequences can affect you and your future. We can review your case and determine what the most likely consequences may be. Then, we can formulate a defense strategy that can help reduce the charges, lead to a dismissal, or lessen the consequences in some way. Before accepting the consequences of a DUI arrest, let us hear the details and ensure your rights are upheld and help you get the best resolution possible.

DUI Defense Attorney in New Hampshire

A DUI charge can be frightening to deal with and can create a great deal of anxiety and stress. The consequences can include high fines, loss of your driver’s license and even jail time. If you have been charged with a DUI, whether it’s a first offense or an aggravated DUI, you should know there is no such thing as an open and shut case. Regardless of the situation, you deserve to pursue defense options that may minimize the impact of the charge or result in a dismissal of a DUI charge. Annutto Law Office in Nashua NH can aggressively pursue the best DUI defense for your situation.

We Challenge DUI Charges

A DUI charge in NH can be challenged for a number of reasons. The initial reason you might have been pulled over can be challenged in itself, as the police cannot legally pull you over unless there is cause. We can fight the charge if there was no cause to pull you over.

If your charge is the result of failing a field sobriety test, there are a number of ways we can fight that evidence. A field sobriety test is subjective as the police decide if you pass or fail. If you have certain medical conditions or you were not properly instructed as to how to do the tasks, our firm can fight to have those subjective results tossed out. Weather conditions or the condition of the area where the test was conducted can also play a role in the outcome. For example, if there were high winds or the area was icy, the results can be challenged.

Other tests given, such as breathalyzer or blood tests, can also be challenged as part of a DUI defense. Breath tests are notoriously misleading and certain factors can lead to a false reading, such as cough medicine or mouth wash. Blood tests need to be handled in a specific way and any mishandling can lead to a false results. Every percentage point matters when a DUI charge is filed. If the person giving the test wasn’t certified or properly trained to do so, the results should be fought and potentially dismissed.

Police misconduct can also be a factor in a DUI case. Our attorneys will pour over the details and investigate the situation to determine if any improper police action may prove beneficial to the defense.

Experienced DUI Attorney

There are many defense options when facing a DUI charge. Attorney Annutto will take the time to explore your case and give you the personal attention you deserve. Our attorneys can plan a defense strategy that works for you and helps minimize the impact a charge may have on your life. Let us hear the details of your case and see how our DUI defense options may benefit you.

First Offense DUI in New Hampshire

A DUI charge can have a serious impact on many aspects of your life. If you are facing a first offense DUI charge in New Hampshire, it is important to be aware of the legal consequences you may be facing. It is also important to secure legal representation that can minimize those consequences. Annutto Law Office has the experience and dedication needed to help you get a successful resolution for your first offense DUI case.

What is the Legal Limit?

The legal limit for blood alcohol content in New Hampshire is .08% for a person 21 years of age and older. If under 21, a BAC of .02% can lead to a DUI. An alcohol level of more than .04% can lead to a DUI if you are driving a commercial vehicle.

First Offense DUI penalties

The penalties for a first offense DUI in New Hampshire can result in fines starting at $500 and 10 days jail time. If convicted, you can lose your driver’s license for 9 to 18 months. Losing a driver’s license can affect your job and family responsibilities. You may also have to complete a substance abuse screening assessment. If the screening determines there is a substance abuse issue, there will be a plan devised as part of the DUI punishment. Before a driver’s license will be returned, you will have to complete an impaired driver intervention program. You will also have to carry SR-22 insurance. The cost of any programs will be out of pocket and you will see an increase in car insurance if you have any. Also, a first offense will lead to a criminal record which can have on-going consequences in all areas of life. For some, a first offense DUI may mean potentially losing a job or losing the ability to move forward in a given field.

We Will Work to Save Your License

There is too much at stake to simply accept the consequences of a first offense DUI. Any DUI may be frightening and the consequences can be far-reaching. Your reputation may be on the line and your finances can take a severe hit. Our firm understands the impact of a DUI and can give your case the personal attention and time needed to ensure the best outcome. We will investigate the facts, review evidence, call witnesses, and negotiate the best deal we can. Our DUI attorneys can devise the best strategy based on your needs and work with the local authorities to help you move forward with as little disruption as possible. Let us handle your first offense DUI and negotiate a resolution that works with your best interest in mind.

Second Offense DUI Attorney in New Hampshire

A DUI charge can have a serious impact on many aspects of your life. If you are facing a first offense DUI charge in New Hampshire, it is important to be aware of the legal consequences you may be facing. It is also important to secure legal representation that can minimize those consequences. Annutto Law Office has the experience and dedication needed to help you get a successful resolution for your first offense DUI case.

What is the Legal Limit?

The legal limit for blood alcohol content in New Hampshire is .08% for a person 21 years of age and older. If under 21, a BAC of .02% can lead to a DUI. An alcohol level of more than .04% can lead to a DUI if you are driving a commercial vehicle.

First Offense DUI penalties

The penalties for a first offense DUI in New Hampshire can result in fines starting at $500 and 10 days jail time. If convicted, you can lose your driver’s license for 9 to 18 months. Losing a driver’s license can affect your job and family responsibilities. You may also have to complete a substance abuse screening assessment. If the screening determines there is a substance abuse issue, there will be a plan devised as part of the DUI punishment. Before a driver’s license will be returned, you will have to complete an impaired driver intervention program. You will also have to carry SR-22 insurance. The cost of any programs will be out of pocket and you will see an increase in car insurance if you have any. Also, a first offense will lead to a criminal record which can have on-going consequences in all areas of life. For some, a first offense DUI may mean potentially losing a job or losing the ability to move forward in a given field.

We Will Work to Save Your License

There is too much at stake to simply accept the consequences of a first offense DUI. Any DUI may be frightening and the consequences can be far-reaching. Your reputation may be on the line and your finances can take a severe hit. Our firm understands the impact of a DUI and can give your case the personal attention and time needed to ensure the best outcome. We will investigate the facts, review evidence, call witnesses, and negotiate the best deal we can. Our DUI attorneys can devise the best strategy based on your needs and work with the local authorities to help you move forward with as little disruption as possible. Let us handle your first offense DUI and negotiate a resolution that works with your best interest in mind.

DUI Third Offense Attorney in New Hampshire

A DUI Charge in New Hampshire should be taken very seriously. If it is a third DUI offense in NH, the consequences can affect nearly every aspect of your life including your finances, job, and freedom. If you have been charged with a third offense DUI, you need a dedicated and skilled legal advocate in your corner. Annutto Law Office can work tirelessly to minimize the impact of a third offense DUI charge and fight to protect your rights as you go through this difficult time.

Third Offense DWI Penalties in NH

If convicted, a third offense will lead to jail time. This can be for a period of up to two years. Jail time can affect your ability to stay employed and take care of your family. A third DUI conviction can also lead to an indefinite suspension of driving privileges in New Hampshire. After a period of five years, you can petition the courts to have your license reinstated, however that reinstatement isn’t a given. If your license is reinstated, you will have to install an ignition interlock device for a period of one to two years. This is at your own expense after a DUI conviction. If you do not have insurance, you will be required to carry SR-22 insurance. A substance abuse screening will be ordered after a DUI conviction. The fines for a third offense can be a heavy financial burden also. You can be fined up to $2,000.

Experienced DWI Defense Attorney Working For You

A third offense DUI charge needs to be handled by an attorney who has relationships with local authorities and experience minimizing the harsh consequences a DUI has on all aspects of life. Annutto Law Office understands what is at stake. Our firm gives each DUI case the personal attention needed to ensure the best possible resolution. Your job, reputation, and family can all be disrupted. We know a conviction can follow you into the future after you have served your time and paid your debt. Our firm will work tirelessly to defend you and protect your rights during the process. We will examine the evidence and investigate the unique circumstances that can impact your case. The stress and anxiety of a DUI charge can be overwhelming. We will work to quickly resolve your case and negotiate the best outcome possible. Let our firm help you put the incident behind you and move forward from this uncertain and difficult time.

Drug Possession Lawyers in New Hampshire

A drug possession charge in New Hampshire can have serious legal consequences. Depending on the type of drug, amount, and if there are any other convictions, a drug possession charge can affect every aspect of your life. If you have been charged with drug possession, Annutto Law Office can fight to protect your rights and fight to minimize the charge and minimize the impact on your future.

Is Marijuana Decriminalized in NH?

When it comes to drug possession in NH, marijuana is treated differently than other classes of drugs. Possession of marijuana is not decriminalized in New Hampshire as it is in other states. A possession charge can be filed as a Class A misdemeanor. This is punishable by up to one year in jail and a $2,000 fine. The consequences can be much more severe if the possession charge is filed as possession with intent to sell marijuana. Less than an ounce of marijuana can lead to an intent to sell charge that may be punishable by three years in prison.

Types of Drug Charges & Penalties

Other drugs, such as cocaine, heroin, and certain prescription drugs that have a high rate of addiction are treated more harshly by the law. A first offense drug possession charge for these drugs can be pursued as a Class B felony. This charge can be punishable with up to seven years in prison and a fine of $25,000. Depending on the situation, this charge may be plea bargained down to probation. A second offense drug possession charge can be filed as a Class A felony. This can lead to up to 15 years in prison and a fine of $50,000. A drug possession charge can also lead to treatment program requirements.

Experienced Drug Defense Attorney

Drugs are a serious problem in New Hampshire and all over the country. More often than not, a possession charge is a sign of needing help not prison time. Our firm understands the importance of getting help if there is a drug addiction problem. We also believe regardless of the circumstances, you have rights and those rights need protected. Annutto Law Office gives drug possession cases the personal attention and time needed to best formulate a defense strategy that works. We know each case is different and needs to be approached differently. The consequences of a drug possession conviction can be far-reaching and affect your entire life. Let us hear the details of your case and see how we can help you as we fight for the best possible resolution.

Felony Aggravated DUI Attorney in New Hampshire

Any DUI charge in New Hampshire can be distressing and cause a great deal of anxiety. A felony aggravated DUI charge should be taken very seriously as the consequences can impact all areas of your life. If you are facing a felony aggravated DUI charge, you need immediate legal help and you need to ensure your rights are protected. Annutto Law Office has the experience and compassion needed to defend a felony aggravated DUI charge and we will fight diligently to protect your rights as the case moves forward.

Types of Felony Aggravated Charges

A DUI will be upgraded to a felony aggravated charge under certain conditions. If the DUI incident led to serious bodily injury or death, it may be upgraded. Other factors that can lead to a felony aggravated charge are the BAC level and if there is a prior record. This type of DUI conviction leads to jail time. You could be sentenced to a maximum of seven years in jail. However if death occurs, a negligent homicide charge can be filed and result in 15 years in prison. Seven days in a multiple offender program may be ordered along with high fines. A conviction can also lead to an indefinite loss of your driver’s license. You will lose your license for a minimum of seven years. If you are allowed to drive again, your insurance premiums will rise.

If convicted of felony aggravated DUI, you will have a felony on your criminal record forever. Any kind of felony conviction has its own set of consequences. A felony can prevent you from obtaining certain professional licenses and even getting hired in certain fields. A background check will show you are a convicted felon and this could affect your ability to get loans or even rent an apartment.

Experienced DUI Attorney for NH

You need representation from a skilled and experienced DUI attorney who understands the severity of a felony aggravated DUI charge. Annutto Law Office has the compassion and dedication needed to help you fight a charge and pursue a fair and successful outcome. We will give your case the time and personal attention needed. Our experience dealing with local authorities can be an asset to your case. We will negotiate on your behalf and fight to minimize the charge or defend you as the case moves forward. We will investigate the facts, review the evidence, and challenge any evidence that may be used against you. Our firm understands what is at stake and will fight vigorously to get the best resolution possible. Let us hear the details and put forth the best defense strategy for your case.

Field Sobriety Tests Laws in New Hampshire

Field sobriety tests can be intimidating and the results can lead to a DUI charge. Field sobriety tests are unscientific and subjective. This means regardless of the results, you can and have every right to dispute those results and fight any charges that come about after the tests. Annutto Law Office has the resources and experience needed to examine the results of a field sobriety test and work to resolve your case in the fairest way possible.

Administering the FST Properly

Despite the subjective nature of a field sobriety test, there are certain rules and standards a police officer must uphold before determining if you passed of failed a test. According to the law, the officer must be trained to administer a field sobriety test. The officer is also supposed to instruct and demonstrate the tasks you are asked to perform. Some of the more common tests conducted include the horizontal gaze test, walk and turn test, and one-leg stand test.

While the police may say any faltering or failure to complete a field sobriety test means someone has had too much to drink, there are countless other reasons someone may fail a test. One is health conditions. There are many medical conditions which can make doing certain field sobriety tests nearly impossible, if not dangerous. Leg, back, balance issues such as vertigo, hip mobility, and illnesses can make the tasks difficult to complete to the satisfaction of a police officer. Age alone can make certain aspects of a field sobriety test difficult, as can disability. Also, outside forces can make the test nearly impossible, such as wind and other adverse weather conditions.

Experienced Field Sobriety Test Defense Attorney

Annutto Law Office can defend you against the findings of a field sobriety test. A DUI charge may cost you your license and possibly your freedom. We will take the time to investigate the circumstances and review any evidence, such as patrol car video or weather issues. Our firm is dedicated to protecting clients’ rights during difficult times. A DUI can have very serious consequences and impact all aspects of your life. Before accepting a failed sobriety test and believing your fate has been sealed, let us evaluate the situation and fight to protect you any way we can. Our firm can give your case the personal attention needed to ensure fair and just treatment as your case moves forward. Let help fight for you and formulate a defense strategy that ensures a successful and timely outcome.

Interlock System Laws NH

If you have been convicted of a DUI in New Hampshire, you may be ordered to install an ignition interlock system on your car. This device is essentially a personal breathalyzer test installed in your car. You have to blow into it to start the car and if alcohol is detected, the car will not start. Anyone who has been ordered to install an ignition interlock device on his or her car should understand the interlock system laws in New Hampshire.

Who Pays To Have The Device Installed?

Installation of the device is ordered when a license is set to be reinstated. Proof of installation will be needed before a license will be returned. You will be given a certificate of installation to present to the New Hampshire DMV when needed. The installation can cost anywhere from $50 to $200. There is also a monthly rental fee and you will have to make appointments for calibration of the machine and any other maintenance if needed.

How Long Do I Need The Interlock Device On My Vehicle?

The time period for which you may be ordered to install and keep an ignition interlock system can vary according to the charge for which you were convicted.  For a second or third offense DUI, you may need to have one for one to two years.  If you are convicted of a more severe DUI, such as an aggravated charge, you may have to have the device for an even longer time period. Any tampering of the device will result in additional consequences. This includes having someone else blow into the machine for you.

Experienced Ignition Interlock Defense Lawyer

If you are ordered to use an ignition interlock device, you need to understand the facts of the device and what is expected of you. Having an interlock device can affect your reputation and it may affect your job, especially if driving other vehicles if required. Our firm has experience in guiding New Hampshire residents through the process once they are ordered to install a device. We can answer your questions, help ensure you are following through with the order correctly, and defend you if accused of tampering with an ignition interlock system. Attorney Annutto understands the impact this system may have on your life. Let us guide you through this time and help ensure your rights are protected and the impact on your life is minimal.

SR-22 Insurance Requirement Laws NH

New Hampshire is a state that does not require drivers to carry car insurance. But, if you are convicted of certain crimes or traffic violations, you may be required by the state to get insured. If you have been told you need SR-22 insurance, it is important to understand the laws and have the proper legal guidance for your situation.

What is SR-22?

SR-22 stands for safety responsibility. It is evidence from the insurance company to the Department of Motor Vehicles that proves you have the minimum coverage. This basic insurance coverage can be a required order even if you do not own a vehicle. Typically, SR-22 insurance is ordered if you are convicted of a DUI, reckless driving, leaving the scene of an accident, or other violations.

How Long Do I Need It?

If convicted of a DUI in New Hampshire, you will have to carry the mandated insurance for a period of three years. If you have subsequent convictions, you will have to carry the minimum insurance for a longer period of time. The time starts once you have your driver’s license reinstated. If you fail to pay the premiums or cancel the SR-22 insurance policy for any reason, your license can be suspended again.

It is important to follow an order for SR-22 insurance. When insurance is mandated as a consequence for a criminal conviction, effective legal representation can verify compliance and answer any questions you may have. Up-to-date legal knowledge at your disposal will help you avoid any misunderstandings or miscommunications that could cost you your license.

Experienced Defense Attorney Working for You!

Attorney Annutto can take a look at your case and work to minimize the time you are required to carry SR-22 insurance. Our firm can review evidence, investigate the facts, and negotiate on your behalf. We will work to help you deal with insurance issues and make sure you fully understand the laws and requirements that affect your case. To avoid any pitfalls and to help you get your driver’s license back and keep it, let our firm assist with your SR-22 insurance needs.

Underage DUI Attorney in New Hampshire

Any DUI charge in New Hampshire can impact your life in any number of ways. An underage DUI charge can be even more severe. If you have been charged with underage DUI in NH, you could be facing serious consequences. You need a skilled and experienced DUI attorney by your side who will investigate the case and work to ensure a fair resolution. Annutto Law Office will fight for your rights and defend you against an underage DUI charge.

blood alcohol content of .02% can result in an underage DUI charge. For some, it may only take one alcoholic drink to measure at or above this level. If pulled over and arrested for underage DUI, you can also be charged with other crimes related to being underage. This can include a possession of alcohol charge and being in possession of a fake ID.

Underage DUI Penalties in NH

The legal consequences for an underage DUI are more severe than for a DUI charge against an of-age person. There is a driver’s license suspension of one to two years. You may also be ordered to install an ignition interlock system for an extended period of time. The fines can start at $500. A conviction can also lead to a substance abuse disorder evaluation and compliance with the service plan recommended. SR-22 insurance will be ordered also. A conviction for underage DUI can impact your finances, reputation, and even interrupt your education. Scholarships and future opportunities may be out of reach if you are convicted of an underage DUI.

Experienced DUI Defense Attorney Fighting For You!

Regardless of the circumstances, no DUI charge is a slam dunk. Oftentimes, an underage DUI can be plea bargained down if a dedicated attorney is on the case. Annutto Law Office understands everyone makes mistakes. If you are facing an underage DUI, you need someone in your corner who will fight for you and fight to get the best outcome possible. It can be a stressful and frightening time simply because of the unknowns. Our firm will dedicate the time and resources needed to get a fair resolution. We will use our negotiating skills to lessen charges if possible and devise a defense plan that helps you move forward. Attorney Annutto will vigorously challenge evidence and investigate your case with your best interest in mind. Let us hear the details of your underage DUI situation and help you move forward as quickly as possible.

Annulment of Criminal Records in New Hampshire

Everyone deserves a second chance. If you have been convicted of a crime in New Hampshire, you might be able to seek an annulment of your criminal record. This is a legal process that can essentially give you the fresh start you deserve and can help you put your past behind you. Annutto Law Office can review your situation and pursue an annulment of criminal records so you can move forward with a clean record.

Annulment Qualifications

An annulment of criminal records will result in you being treated as if the arrest and conviction did not happen at all. A petition for an annulment needs to be filed in court and a judge will either grant or deny the petition.  In order to pursue an annulment, certain criteria must be met. You must not have any criminal offenses on your record for a certain period of time and you must have completed the terms of any sentence previously ordered. There must be documentation of this completion. That can be in the form of completion of a substance abuse program, probation completion, or completion of court ordered therapy. If an annulment is denied, there is a waiting period for you can reapply for annulment.

There are many personal and professional reasons to seek an annulment of criminal records. You may want to get your good name back and repair a tarnished reputation. You may also simply want to erase a mistake that could hold you back from a career you want to pursue.

Experienced Criminal Annulment Attorney

The success of an annulment of criminal records petition hinges on a judge being persuaded in your favor. The legal hearing, much like any other legal hearing, should be handled by a skilled and experienced legal representative. Criminal Attorney Joe Annutto has the ability to present your side and petition in a way that can help sway the ruling in your favor. We will go over the details of your case and discover the benefits of an annulment. We understand how much an annulment may mean to you and your family. We can uncover the best strategy for going forward with an annulment of a criminal record and help you put the past behind you.

Assault and Battery Attorney in New Hampshire

Assault can be a complicated charge to understand. Because of the varying degrees of assault in New Hampshire, there are a wide range of potential legal consequences. If you have been charged with assault, you need immediate legal assistance to understand the consequences and possible defense options. Annutto Law Office can be your source for skilled and effective representation that can help you get the most positive outcome for your case.

First Degree Assault

First degree assault is a Class A felony legally defined as actions purposely causing bodily injury or assault with a deadly weapon. Assault can also be first degree charge if it caused a miscarriage or the victim was under 13 years old. First degree assault is a very serious charge and a conviction can lead to extensive prison time. You could face seven and a half to 15 years in prison if convicted. You may also be ordered to pay a $4,000 fine.

Second Degree Assault

Second degree assault is a Class B felony defined as purposely causing bodily injury or assault with a deadly weapon and showing an extreme indifference to the value of life. Negligently causing injury or if the victim is under 13 years old can also lead to a second degree assault charge. Strangulation can fall under second degree assault, also. A second degree assault conviction can lead to prison time of three and a half to seven years.

Simple Assault

Simple assault is a misdemeanor charge. This charge can be filed even when there has been no physical contact or bodily harm. A display of force or threat can lead to a simple assault charge. Simple assault is commonly filed if there has been a fight, such as hitting and pushing. A conviction can lead to 12 months in jail and a $2,000 fine.

Other types of assault charges in New Hampshire include domestic violence, sexual assault, assault on a police officer, and vehicular assault. These charges can have various consequences depending on the circumstances.

If you are convicted of a felony assault charge, your ability to buy firearms, get certain jobs or certifications, and even get loans can all be compromised. A felony will remain on your criminal record long after you pay your debt to society.

Experienced Assault & Battery Defense

If you are facing any level of an assault charge, you need an attorney who can fight to protect your rights and put the best defense plan into action. Attorney Annutto has the resources to investigate your case and the compassion to present your side, giving you the best chance for a successful outcome. Our firm understands what is at stake and how a conviction can impact every area of your life. We give each case our personal attention and will devise the best defense strategy. We can also negotiate to reduce or dismiss charges if possible. You may be in the middle of the most difficult time you have ever faced and the consequences can affect your future and your family. Let us relieve the stress of the unknown and fight to get the best possible resolution for your case.

Bail Hearings in New Hampshire

If you are arrested for a crime, a bail hearing is the first step of the legal process. Every person has the right to a bail hearing just as every person has the right to a sound and effective defense. A bail hearing can be stressful, overwhelming, and confusing. If you or a loved one has a bail hearing, you need comprehensive and immediate legal representation to help you through the process. Anutto Law Office can be by your side during a bail hearing and throughout any leg of the legal process.

Types of Bail Hearings

There are three types of bail in New Hampshire. Cash bail is one possible outcome. This means a certain amount of bail has been set and in order to be released, you must pay the entire amount. After a case concludes, that amount will be refunded. The second type of possible bail is surety bail. This is through a third party. Either a bail bondsman or a bail company will foot the bill for a fee. The third kind of bail is personal recognizance. This is essentially a promise to pay the amount if you fail to appear at your court date.

When bail is set, there are a number of factors a judge may weigh before deciding the type of bail, if any, and the amount. The essence of the alleged crime plays a role and the more serious the crime, the higher the bail amount may be. Other factors include whether or not you are deemed a flight risk. The connections in the community and your job may help a judge believe you are not a flight risk. It will also be noted if you have failed to appear at a previous bail hearings for past charges. If you have violated the terms of past bail hearings, bail may be denied or set unusually high.  The Court also will weigh whether or not you pose a harm to yourself or someone else. In cases of violent crimes, such as domestic violence and battery, this may weigh heavily in a bail hearing.

Experienced Bail Hearings Attorney

A defense attorney with experience and vigorous dedication to gaining your freedom is indispensable. Annutto Law Office knows how much anxiety and upheaval can result from being incarcerated, especially before you have even been found guilty of a crime. Our firm understands the importance of securing your freedom so you can begin to move forward and prepare to defend yourself against any charges. We have the resources needed to fight for a fair bail and fight for your freedom while your case unfolds. We will present your side effectively and do all we can to get you or your loved one out. Let us be there for your bail hearing and help you through this difficult time.

Criminal Defense Investigations in New Hampshire

An investigation into the facts and circumstances is important for any criminal case. The State has the resources to prosecute and investigate each case, using police officers and investigators assigned to ensure a criminal charge is prosecuted by any means possible. If you have been charged with a crime, you deserve and need those same resources to defend yourself and move forward from a criminal charge. Annutto Law Office has the resources and time needed to proceed with a criminal defense investigation as we work to protect your rights.

The Investigation Process

A criminal defense investigation in New Hampshire can involve the investigation of a crime scene, interviewing witnesses, and preparing the client for what may lay ahead. A thorough investigation may include background checks on witnesses, gathering evidence to support the defense, and a review of police reports and witness statements. The results of an investigation can help defense attorneys formulate a plan for a comprehensive defense. Vital information can be uncovered during a criminal defense investigation that can affect the outcome of your case and possibly secure your freedom. Relying on the prosecution’s version of the facts or documentation of a scene or incident is never in your best interest.

Aggressive Defense Attorney

With the help of a criminal defense investigation, a stronger and more effective defense strategy can be planned and implemented if the case goes to trial. Our firm not only understands the importance of a thorough investigation, we fight and diligently pursue any aspect of an investigation that may help your case. If you are facing a serious charge, you need to know someone is out there fighting on your behalf and working to ensure no stone goes unturned. Annutto Law Office can be your resource for that much-needed advocacy. We can give your case the time and personal attention needed to ensure a full investigation. Our firm is dedicated to getting every piece of helpful information that may exist. Let us hear the details of your situation and see if we can secure a criminal defense investigation that could result in the outcome you need.

Criminal Threatening Attorney in New Hampshire

Criminal threatening can encompass a variety of behaviors or actions. The laws in New Hampshire are very clear and any criminal threatening charge should be taken seriously. If you have been charged with criminal threatening, you need immediate legal representation you can count on. Annutto Law Office can review your case and protect your rights as we fight to minimize the impact of a criminal threatening charge.

Types of Criminal Threatening

According to the statute, criminal threatening is essentially acts of purposely placing or attempting to place another person in fear of imminent bodily injury. Criminal threatening can also include placing an object or graffiti on a person’s property with the intent of terrorizing or coercing a person in some way. Verbally threatening to commit a crime against property or a person in order to terrorize is also considered criminal threatening according to New Hampshire law. More severe and open to harsher consequences is the act of delivering a biological or chemical substance to cause the evacuation of a public building or transportation with a disregard for the fear that is induced.

Criminal Threatening Penalties

Most criminal threatening cases are misdemeanor charges. However, this charge can be pursued as a Class B felony under certain circumstances. If a building is evacuated or the threatening is done with a deadly weapon, a felony may be filed. Fines and counseling may also be handed down as consequences for criminal threatening.

A criminal threatening charge can be complex depending on the nature of the incident and the relationship of the people involved. There may a situation that was misinterpreted or blown out of proportion. It is vital that you secure experienced and dedicated legal help. Our firm can investigate the case and interview witnesses who may be able to prove a misunderstanding occurred. We can also present your side in the most positive way possible. Your finances, career, and reputation may all be on the line if you have been charged. With us by your side, you can rest assured your case will get the individual attention it deserves and your rights will be protected every step of the way. We will fight to get to the facts and obtain the most favorable resolution possible. Let us hear the details of the incident and see how we can help with your criminal threatening charge.

Domestic Violence Laws in New Hampshire

Personal relationships can be extremely complicated. When a personal or intimate relationship leads to a domestic violence charge, the consequences can disrupt the lives of everyone involved. If you have been charged with a crime related to domestic violence in New Hampshire, you need to know your rights and know what to expect. Annutto Law Office has the experience and compassion needed to navigate complex and emotional cases involving domestic violence.

Domestic violence laws apply when the parties are spouses, ex-spouses, family members, or others who have an intimate relationship. If police arrive on the scene of a domestic violence incident, they can arrest anyone if there is probable cause that violence has occurred, even if there is no imminent danger. This arrest will result in a restraining order. A restraining order will have an immediate impact on a household and can affect your career, reputation, and your family in a variety of ways.

Domestic Violence: What it includes

Some of the behaviors that can lead to a domestic violence arrest include:

  • Threatening
  • Assault
  • Sexual assault
  • Destruction of property
  • Harassment
  • Threats to another’s safety

If an arrest leads to an assault charge, a conviction can lead to prison time. A first degree assault charge stemming from a domestic violence charge can result in up to 15 years in prison. A second degree assault charge related to domestic violence can lead to seven years in prison. Both charges are felonies, meaning life-long consequences.

Resources:

Coalition Against Domestic Violence in New Hampshire

New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services

Experienced Domestic Violence Attorney

Annutto Law Office understands that no two domestic violence situations are the same. Our firm knows these cases can stem from incidents that occur under duress, passionate disputes, and misunderstandings. We also know the impact a charge can have on your reputation and family in general. If the charge leads to a restraining order, you may not be able to go home and see your family, and face many other restrictions as well. We can help. Our firm will take the time to listen to what happened and will work to get the best possible resolution. Attorney Annutto will explain your options and devise a strategy that helps you and your family move forward. We will give your case the personal attention and compassion domestic violence cases require. Let us hear your side and see if we can relieve the stress of the unknown and the anxiety of what may come about from a domestic violence charge.

Restraining Order Laws in New Hampshire

Restraining orders are taken very seriously in New Hampshire. A restraining order can have an immediate effect on an entire family, particularly the person who is the subject of the order. If you have had a restraining order filed against you, immediate legal advice and support is needed. Annutto Law Office knows the complexities and emotions involved when it comes to restraining orders. We can be your source for clear-headed guidance as representation as you go through this difficult time.

After an incident, often involving a domestic violence incident, a restraining order may be issued. This is a temporary order until a hearing is conducted. Then, a final and long-term restraining order may be issued. At the hearing for a long-term order, both sides get to present their side of the situation.

Restraining Order Protocol

restraining order essentially seeks to prohibit abuse. If an order is issued against you, you will have to leave a shared home. You will have to turn over firearms you own and refrain from any contact with the person who filed the order. If there are shared children involved, you may not be able see those children either. This means you must stay away from the school and work place of the person who filed the order. You may also be ordered to pay support for the spouse or children involved, along with continuing to pay the rent, mortgage, and utilities of a shared home. If you violate this order in any way, even if you believe the order should not have been issued, there will be legal consequences. Violation of the order in itself can lead to one year in jail.

Experienced Restraining Order Attorney

Along with a restraining order, you may be ordered to attend counseling, anger management, or probation. A restraining order needs to be taken seriously and needs to be fully understood. Attorney Joseph Annutto can be your source for up-to-date information and on-going support. We will give your case the compassion and personal attention it deserves. The order can disrupt every aspect of your life. Annutto Law Office will listen to your side, devise a defense strategy, or negotiate on your behalf. We will help you deal with the unknown and help you move forward as quickly as possible. Let us hear the details of your case and see how we can help you overcome a restraining order and the ensuing consequences.

Felony Charge Attorney in New Hampshire

Felony charges are the most serious class of criminal charges anyone can face. There are a wide range of possible penalties and sentences that can come about depending on the exact nature of the charge. Regardless of what type of felony is charged, a felony charge can have an immediate impact on many areas of your life. If you have been charged with a felony, the criminal attorneys at Annutto Law Office can help protect your rights and minimize the impact a felony may have on your life.

Types of Felonies in New Hampshire

There are two types of felonies in New Hampshire. Class A felonies are the most serious. This level of felony can include:

  • Murder
  • Manslaughter
  • Kidnapping
  • Sex crimes
  • Assault resulting in bodily injury
  • Theft of property valued at more than $1,000
  • Certain drug crimes

Class A Felony

A Class A felony can lead to a prison sentence of up to 15 years in prison. Certain violent crimes, such as murder and aggravated sexual assault, can lead to life sentences.

Class B Felony

Class B felonies can include:

  • Possession of small amounts of illegal substances
  • 4th DUI offense
  • Theft of property valued between $500 and $1,000

A conviction of a Class B felony can lead to up to seven years in prison. There can be a fine of $2000 imposed.

Any felony can lead to more than one year in jail. Any felony conviction regardless of the amount of jail time will have an impact on your life. A felony conviction can mean you are no longer able to legally carry firearms. It can also appear on background checks for jobs and loan applications. Funding for student loans and certain professional licenses may be denied if you have a felony conviction.

There are several factors that may sway how a felony case unfolds. A judge has a great deal of discretion with sentencing and penalties. Some factors than may influence a case include any past criminal record or probation. Also, your impact on the community and impact of the crime can all factor into a judge’s decision.

Experienced Felony Defense Team

If you are charged with a felony, attorney Joseph Annutto can be your greatest resource. We will thoroughly investigate the case and uncover any evidence in your favor. We will also dedicate the time and resources needed to challenge any evidence against you. We will interview witnesses and devise the most beneficial defense strategy possible. With attention to detail and an understanding of how serious a felony conviction may be, we will fight to protect and defend you. Let us hear the details of your case and see what we can do to help put the incident behind you so you can move forward.

Misdemeanor Laws in New Hampshire

There are two types of criminal charges in New Hampshire—misdemeanors and felonies. A misdemeanor charge can apply to a wide range of behaviors or actions. If you have been charged with a misdemeanor, it is important to understand the potential legal consequences. Annutto Law Office can explain what constitutes a misdemeanor and what you should do if charged with one.

Misdemeanors are the most common crimes committed. Regardless of the exact nature of the charge, a mhttps://annuttolawoffice.com/attorneys-staff/isdemeanor can lead to a maximum of one year in jail. There are also fines associated with misdemeanors. The amount of the fine depends on the exact crime. A misdemeanor can also lead to a loss of a New Hampshire driver’s license.

Types of Misdemeanors

There are two classes of misdemeanors—Class A and Class B, with Class A being the most serious. Examples of Class A misdemeanors include: criminal mischief, stalking, possession of a small amount of drugs, simple assault, and resisting arrest. Examples of Class B misdemeanors include DUI charges and other non-violent crimes. Some crimes can be pursued as either a Class A or a Class B misdemeanor depending on the circumstances or value of property involved. Those crimes can include: prostitution, disorderly conduct, and resisting arrest. A Class A misdemeanor can lead to a year in jail and a fine of up $2,000. A Class B misdemeanor can lead to a $1,200 fine and the loss of a driver’s license.

While hard prison time will not happen if you are convicted of a misdemeanor, there are consequences that can impact your life in a number of ways. If you have a misdemeanor conviction, any further criminal convictions can be more serious. You will have a criminal record, which can impact your job and your reputation.

Experienced Criminal Defense Attorney in New Hampshire

Attorney Annutto  can handle a wide range of misdemeanor cases and protect the rights of those accused. We can give your case the personal attention you deserve and will dedicate the necessary resources to proving your innocence or fighting to get the charges minimized or dismissed. Let us review your case or answer any questions you may have about a misdemeanor charge in New Hampshire.

Resisting Arrest Attorney in New Hampshire

A resisting arrest charge in New Hampshire can be frustrating and stressful to deal with for anyone. Resisting arrest can result in legal consequences that may impact many areas of your life. If a situation occurred and a resisting arrest charge was filed against you, it is in your best interest to secure legal help as soon as possible. Annutto Law Office has the skill and experience needed to help you fight a resisting arrest charge in New Hampshire.

Resisting Arrest Penalties

Resisting arrest is legally defined as knowingly or purposely physically resisting being taken into custody. This can be against an officer from the state police, local police, or a probation officer.

resisting arrest charge can be complex as it may come about after a heated situation or even a misunderstanding. When someone is being placed under arrest, there can be a great deal of confusion and fear of what may happen next. What may be the result of panic and fear can be interpreted as resisting arrest or threatening. It can be subjective and it may turn into a situation of your word against the police officer involved. Actions may also be misinterpreted as resisting when adrenaline is running high and a situation is unfolding quickly. For those in a position where they know with certainty that they did nothing legally wrong, the act of being arrested can be overwhelming. Even if the charge resulting in the arrest is dismissed or you are acquitted, a charge of resisting arrest can still be pursued against you.

Resisting arrest is most commonly a misdemeanor charge in New Hampshire which can result in a fine and up to one year in jail. However, if you are charged with causing serious bodily injury, resisting arrest can lead to a felony charge. A felony conviction for resisting arrest can lead to time in prison and a criminal record that can impact the rest of your life.

Experienced Criminal Attorney

Attorney Annutto  recognizes that misunderstandings occur and how a charge may be unwarranted. We also understand the tension and frustration of being arrested and how that can cause panic and stress, leading to actions or words that may be out of character. Our firm can investigate the circumstances and help present your side in the best light. We can interview witnesses and work to reduce a charge, or least minimize the impact it can have on your life. A charge of any kind can affect your reputation, family, and your career. Let us hear the details of the incident and see how we may be able to help.

Stalking Order Laws in New Hampshire

A stalking charge in NH can be stressful, confusing and come about during an emotional time. Being charged with stalking or violating a stalking order can lead to serious legal consequences in New Hampshire. If you have been charged, you need to understand the relevant laws in New Hampshire. Annutto Law Office can help explain the laws and formulate a defense strategy to help you through this difficult time.

Stalking is legally defined as purposely targeting a person with at least two separate acts that cause him or her to fear for his or her safety or the safety of that person’s family.

Stalking Penalties

A stalking charge can be either criminal or civil. The process of filing a stalking order is similar to obtaining a restraining order. If someone obtains a temporary stalking order against you, a hearing will take place 30 days later. At this time, the court will hear from both parties. If the order is granted, it can be in effect for one year. A stalking order will mean you can’t contact the party for that time amount of time. This means you can’t confront the person at home, work, or school. You may also be ordered to undergo counseling. If you do or engage in any conduct that is considered a violation of the order, there may be additional charges filed.

Stalking is a Class A misdemeanor charge. It can result in up to one year in jail and a $2,000 fine. If a conviction of stalking is the second conviction in a seven year period, it can be filed as a Class B felony. This is much more serious and can impact every aspect of your life. A felony conviction means you might not be able to own a firearm and it can prohibit you from getting certain jobs and professional licenses.

Experienced Stalking Order Attorney

Stalking situations can be complex given the fact that each case can be vastly different. People can misinterpret actions or overreact, leading to criminal consequences. If you have been charged with stalking, Annutto Law Office may be able to help you. We will investigate the facts and evidence and work tirelessly to explain your side. We have the negotiating experience and relationships with local authorities to help obtain a fair and timely resolution. A stalking charge can impact your family and reputation. We understand that impact and will work to resolve the matter quickly and fairly. Let us hear the details of your case or further explain New Hampshire stalking order laws. We can ensure your rights are protected and be your source for the legal support you need and deserve.

Theft Defense Attorney in New Hampshire

Theft charges can be complicated in New Hampshire. The consequences of a theft charge in NH depend on the value of the items and the circumstances under which property was taken or kept. If you have been charged with theft, you need immediate legal assistance and you need to understand the possible consequences of a conviction. Annutto Law Office can review your situation and give your case the time needed to fight for a fair and favorable resolution.

What is Considered Theft?

Theft is legally defined as an act of obtaining control of the property of another. This has to be with the intent or purpose to deprive the owner use of the property. There are many different types of theft in New Hampshire including the following:

  • Theft by deception—a dishonest means of getting someone’s property
  • Theft by extortion—using blackmail or threatening someone to gain property
  • Receiving stolen property—knowing property you acquired was stolen from someone else
  • Theft of services—taking and depriving an owner of professional services, vehicles, or utilities
  • Willful concealment—hiding items you know belong to another

Theft Charges & Penalties in NH

Aside from the exact type of theft, the value of the property will determine how a charge may be handled. If the property is valued at less than $500, it will be a misdemeanor charge with a maximum of one year in prison. If the property is valued between $500 and less than $1,000, it will be a Class B felony. This is punishable with three and a half to seven years in prison. If the item or items are valued at over $1,000, the charge will be a Class A felony. This can lead to seven and a half to 15 years in prison. Regardless of value of property, a third theft conviction is an automatic felony. Any felony conviction will have a severe and far-reaching impact on your life, including your ability to work in certain fields and get certain professional licenses.

Experienced Theft Defense Attorney

If you have been charged with theft, our firm can help. Criminal Attorney Joseph Annuttowill take the time to investigate your case and the circumstances of the situation. We will formulate a defense plan and refute the value of the items if possible. Our firm understands what is at stake, including your freedom. We will work with you and keep you informed during every step of your case. We can negotiate a plea bargain when possible and fight to minimize the impact of a charge. Our litigating experience combined with our dedication to helping those who need us most can make our attorneys your most valuable asset. Let us help protect your rights and fight for you.

Witness Tampering Attorney in New Hampshire

Witness tampering is an extremely serious charge in New Hampshire. If charged, you could be facing prison time and high fines. It is important to understand the legal definition of witness tampering and the possible consequences of the charge. Annutto Law Office has experienced and dedicated criminal defense attorneys who can help you fight a witness tampering charge and help you obtain a quick resolution to your case.

Witness Charges & Penalties in NH

Witness tampering in NH is a charge that can only occur if there is a pending case or a legal proceeding is taking place. It is defined as an attempt to make or coerce a person into giving false testimony under oath or an attempt to coerce or threaten a person into withholding information from authorities. Another form of witness tampering is influencing or coercing another into not showing up for a court date or hearing. Coercing that person into eluding authorities who wish to gather testimony is also a form of witness tampering. Enticing or soliciting a person into not testifying is witness tampering. If there is retaliation against a witness or informant, a charge of witness tampering may be pursued.

Witness tampering is a Class B felony. This means if you are convicted you could be facing three and a half years to seven years in prison, along with a $4,000 fine. A felony conviction can have an impact on all areas of your life long after you serve your debt to society. As a convicted felon, you may be ineligible for certain jobs and certain professional licenses. A convicted felon can’t own a firearm either. A felony may affect your ability to rent an apartment, get a loan, or conduct other financial matters. A felony stays on your record forever and can certainly affect your reputation and family.

Experienced Witness Tampering Attorney

If you are facing a witness tampering charge, you need to understand your rights. Annutto Law Office understands the impact the charge may have on your life and will fight to formulate a defense strategy that suits your best interest. We will investigate the purported evidence against you and interview any witnesses that may help your case. Our firm can give your case the time and personal attention needed to secure a favorable outcome. Miscommunications and misunderstandings can propel a charge of witness tampering. Let us hear the details of your case and help relieve the stress and anxiety that a charge may be causing you.